logo

Live Production Software Forums

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
K16pro  
#1 Posted : Monday, December 10, 2018 4:15:31 AM(UTC)
K16pro

Groups: Registered

Hello!
I am a VTR and replay operator for our production and one of the pain points that our crew is having is the inability to display the playback time of Vmix Program view to an external source via API.

As it stands I've been counting down to my director verbally for timeback over comm channels.

My quick fix to this was by using OBS with NDI capture to desktop capture the timecode box underneath program, and NDIing that out to my director to take as a source in OBS over our multiview. This is functional, but it's very convoluted and i'm looking for a better native solution that will eliminate OBS from my workflow.

I was wondering if there's a better way to approach this where I wouldn't need to rely on capturing my desktop as a video source, and take the countdown through the API perhaps?
kjones9999  
#2 Posted : Tuesday, December 11, 2018 2:43:58 PM(UTC)
kjones9999

Was thanked: 78 time(s) in 50 post(s)
Hi don't have a lot of time to work on this, but if you import the vmix API as XML through data sources it reveals the time with the position key. Divide by 1000 and that gives the number of seconds elapsed. Heres a video - note the xpath.

?hd=1
raugert  
#3 Posted : Tuesday, December 11, 2018 3:28:15 PM(UTC)
raugert

Canada

Was thanked: 309 time(s) in 176 post(s)
Yes in fact you can get the data through the API. The Duration and Position is included in the XML. It's a matter of parsing and massaging the data correctly. However, if you want, you can apply some of your current technique directly in VMix without using OBS.

1. Create a new Desktop Capture Input in vMix.
2. Use this new input as a 'multiview overlay' on one of your current inputs.