logo

Live Production Software Forums

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
stojajir  
#1 Posted : Friday, July 5, 2024 10:30:20 PM(UTC)
stojajir

Groups: Registered

Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Hello fellow vMix experts,

I am reaching out with a complicated and serious problem.

The Issue:
NDI input is dropping many frames on new Intel CPUs with E-cores on Windows 11 (11th gen and newer).
Why I think this is due to new intel laptops? I have ruled out every other possibility and tried numerous troubleshooting tips over the last few months. I have been using NDI for several years without major issues (most problems were network-related, but I don't believe this one is).

Steps to Replicate and Solution:
I have two identical laptops: Lenovo Legion 5 (15IAH7H) - Intel Core i7 12700H, 16GB DDR5 RAM, NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3060 6GB.
Both laptops are connected to the same router (MikroTik hAP ac2) on gigabit network.
On both laptops, I play the same video and send it via Output 1 to NDI.
Both laptops then play each other’s NDI source.
In vMix statistics, frames are dropping significantly.

Solution is to disable Core Parking and run vMix on Performance cores only.

Disable Core Parking:
  • Open Command Prompt (Win+R, type "cmd").
  • Copy and execute this command: powercfg -attributes SUB_PROCESSOR CPMINCORES -ATTRIB_HIDE.
  • Go to Control Panel -> Hardware and Sound -> Power Options -> Change plan settings -> Change advanced power settings -> Processor power management -> Processor performance core parking min cores -> Set to 100%.

Run vMix on Performance Cores Only:
  • Launch vMix.
  • Open Task Manager.
  • In the "Details" tab, find vMix.exe -> right-click -> Set affinity.
  • Select only the first set of processor cores. The exact number depends on the processor and the number of P and E cores it has.