logo

Live Production Software Forums


Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
spino  
#1 Posted : Friday, April 21, 2017 9:52:05 AM(UTC)
spino

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 12/20/2016(UTC)
Posts: 177
Man
Italy
Location: Milano

Was thanked: 21 time(s) in 13 post(s)
I'd like to build a stinger transition with audio. Do you think it's possible? I know the stinger is an image sequence so it could be impossible to assign an audio. What do you think about? (I know that DWAM will say: "use API" eheheheheh but as he knows I don't know API programming language). Do you think there is a different way?
DWAM  
#2 Posted : Friday, April 21, 2017 9:57:04 AM(UTC)
DWAM

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 3/20/2014(UTC)
Posts: 2,721
Man
France
Location: Bordeaux, France

Thanks: 242 times
Was thanked: 791 time(s) in 589 post(s)
"use triggers" eheheheheh

;o)

[Edit]
Actually no, triggering audio won't work on a stinger.

What you can do is set the audiofile as a multiview source for your image sequence input. This works, I just tried.

eheheheheh
thanks 2 users thanked DWAM for this useful post.
stigaard on 4/21/2017(UTC), mburel1980 on 4/22/2017(UTC)
stigaard  
#3 Posted : Friday, April 21, 2017 10:13:53 AM(UTC)
stigaard

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 5/20/2015(UTC)
Posts: 493
Man
Denmark
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Thanks: 367 times
Was thanked: 99 time(s) in 79 post(s)
DWAM wrote:
"use triggers"



Or use Multi-view to attach an audio input :-)

Multi-view meaning - for the image sequence - open general settings - and then go to Multi view and attach the audio input you want.

EDIT: DWAM just wrote the same answer :D :D :D
IceStream  
#4 Posted : Friday, April 21, 2017 10:21:14 AM(UTC)
IceStream

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 3/7/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,493
Man
Location: Canada

Thanks: 32 times
Was thanked: 475 time(s) in 446 post(s)
@ spino

The "Stinger" can be any video source (i.e. with audio), although it is smoother (consistent) when using an image sequence.
The trick to adding audio to an Image Sequence is to use the "Multiview" feature and add the audio as an oveverlay.
Hope that helps some.


Ice


EDIT: you gotta be quick if you want to beat Guillaume to the punch! lol
I had to take a call before completing my post, by the time I got back to it and posted, I was already trumped...
DWAM  
#5 Posted : Friday, April 21, 2017 10:24:30 AM(UTC)
DWAM

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 3/20/2014(UTC)
Posts: 2,721
Man
France
Location: Bordeaux, France

Thanks: 242 times
Was thanked: 791 time(s) in 589 post(s)
Yes Jens, I guess we were writing at the same time!

Trigger method doesn't work for a stinger as it is not considered as a "regular" input, thus "OnTransitionIn" or "OnOverlayIn" conditions are not effective.
spino  
#6 Posted : Friday, April 21, 2017 11:21:11 AM(UTC)
spino

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 12/20/2016(UTC)
Posts: 177
Man
Italy
Location: Milano

Was thanked: 21 time(s) in 13 post(s)
Thank you guys, with multiview it works.
DWAM  
#7 Posted : Saturday, April 22, 2017 2:34:45 AM(UTC)
DWAM

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 3/20/2014(UTC)
Posts: 2,721
Man
France
Location: Bordeaux, France

Thanks: 242 times
Was thanked: 791 time(s) in 589 post(s)
Just found this in an old topic. From Martin himself... Not tested
Quote:
There is some undocumented support for sounds with image sequences that I didn't have time to add to the UI in 16.
If you create a wav or mp3 file with the same name as the first image it will be loaded and used automatically.

So if image001.png is the first image set the sound to be image001.png.wav
thanks 1 user thanked DWAM for this useful post.
corporatejames on 5/15/2017(UTC)
spino  
#8 Posted : Saturday, April 22, 2017 4:10:06 AM(UTC)
spino

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 12/20/2016(UTC)
Posts: 177
Man
Italy
Location: Milano

Was thanked: 21 time(s) in 13 post(s)
DWAM wrote:
Just found this in an old topic. From Martin himself... Not tested
Quote:
There is some undocumented support for sounds with image sequences that I didn't have time to add to the UI in 16.
If you create a wav or mp3 file with the same name as the first image it will be loaded and used automatically.

So if image001.png is the first image set the sound to be image001.png.wav


As soon as I can I try. Thank you.

-TA_  
#9 Posted : Saturday, April 22, 2017 5:08:19 AM(UTC)
-TA_

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 6/12/2015(UTC)
Posts: 70
Location: Finland

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 5 time(s) in 2 post(s)
DWAM wrote:
Just found this in an old topic. From Martin himself... Not tested
Quote:
There is some undocumented support for sounds with image sequences that I didn't have time to add to the UI in 16.
If you create a wav or mp3 file with the same name as the first image it will be loaded and used automatically.

So if image001.png is the first image set the sound to be image001.png.wav

This works
thanks 4 users thanked -TA_ for this useful post.
DWAM on 4/22/2017(UTC), stigaard on 4/22/2017(UTC), Zetor1980 on 4/22/2017(UTC), corporatejames on 5/15/2017(UTC)
spino  
#10 Posted : Saturday, April 22, 2017 7:16:22 AM(UTC)
spino

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 12/20/2016(UTC)
Posts: 177
Man
Italy
Location: Milano

Was thanked: 21 time(s) in 13 post(s)
-TA_ wrote:
DWAM wrote:
Just found this in an old topic. From Martin himself... Not tested
Quote:
There is some undocumented support for sounds with image sequences that I didn't have time to add to the UI in 16.
If you create a wav or mp3 file with the same name as the first image it will be loaded and used automatically.

So if image001.png is the first image set the sound to be image001.png.wav

This works



Not here. I loaded both mp3 and wav files renamed with the first image png but it didn't work. Please, can you give me the steps you made?
Thank you.
-TA_  
#11 Posted : Saturday, April 22, 2017 7:44:17 AM(UTC)
-TA_

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 6/12/2015(UTC)
Posts: 70
Location: Finland

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 5 time(s) in 2 post(s)
spino wrote:
-TA_ wrote:
DWAM wrote:
Just found this in an old topic. From Martin himself... Not tested
Quote:
There is some undocumented support for sounds with image sequences that I didn't have time to add to the UI in 16.
If you create a wav or mp3 file with the same name as the first image it will be loaded and used automatically.

So if image001.png is the first image set the sound to be image001.png.wav

This works



Not here. I loaded both mp3 and wav files renamed with the first image png but it didn't work. Please, can you give me the steps you made?
Thank you.

I don't remember steps but in the same folder I have png's and mp3. First png is xxx.png and sound file is xxx.png.mp3
spino  
#12 Posted : Saturday, April 22, 2017 8:01:27 AM(UTC)
spino

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 12/20/2016(UTC)
Posts: 177
Man
Italy
Location: Milano

Was thanked: 21 time(s) in 13 post(s)
-TA_ wrote:
spino wrote:
-TA_ wrote:
DWAM wrote:
Just found this in an old topic. From Martin himself... Not tested
Quote:
There is some undocumented support for sounds with image sequences that I didn't have time to add to the UI in 16.
If you create a wav or mp3 file with the same name as the first image it will be loaded and used automatically.

So if image001.png is the first image set the sound to be image001.png.wav

This works



Not here. I loaded both mp3 and wav files renamed with the first image png but it didn't work. Please, can you give me the steps you made?
Thank you.

I don't remember steps but in the same folder I have png's and mp3. First png is xxx.png and sound file is xxx.png.mp3


I did the same but it doesn't work. I'll try again.
spino  
#13 Posted : Saturday, April 22, 2017 8:08:06 AM(UTC)
spino

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 12/20/2016(UTC)
Posts: 177
Man
Italy
Location: Milano

Was thanked: 21 time(s) in 13 post(s)
spino wrote:
-TA_ wrote:
spino wrote:
-TA_ wrote:
DWAM wrote:
Just found this in an old topic. From Martin himself... Not tested
Quote:
There is some undocumented support for sounds with image sequences that I didn't have time to add to the UI in 16.
If you create a wav or mp3 file with the same name as the first image it will be loaded and used automatically.

So if image001.png is the first image set the sound to be image001.png.wav

This works



Not here. I loaded both mp3 and wav files renamed with the first image png but it didn't work. Please, can you give me the steps you made?
Thank you.

I don't remember steps but in the same folder I have png's and mp3. First png is xxx.png and sound file is xxx.png.mp3


I did the same but it doesn't work. I'll try again.



OK, I found the problem. The audio file must be present in the same folder of the image sequence BEFORE to add a stinger. If you add the stinger and after that you add the music to the folder, it doesn't work. Actually there is a problem: if you have a music longer than the image sequence, it goes on even after the transition (with multiview method this not happens). So, I think that the better method to add music to a stinger is the multiview.
DWAM  
#14 Posted : Saturday, April 22, 2017 9:03:16 AM(UTC)
DWAM

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 3/20/2014(UTC)
Posts: 2,721
Man
France
Location: Bordeaux, France

Thanks: 242 times
Was thanked: 791 time(s) in 589 post(s)
Normally when you create a stinger, the audio is chosen on purpose and has the same duration as the sequence so it doesn't matter, but yes the multiview solution solves this in case you use test material. However it also cuts audio abruptly when the sequence ends, so it is not nice and smooth as stinger should be.
spino  
#15 Posted : Saturday, April 22, 2017 10:40:34 AM(UTC)
spino

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 12/20/2016(UTC)
Posts: 177
Man
Italy
Location: Milano

Was thanked: 21 time(s) in 13 post(s)
DWAM wrote:
Normally when you create a stinger, the audio is chosen on purpose and has the same duration as the sequence so it doesn't matter, but yes the multiview solution solves this in case you use test material. However it also cuts audio abruptly when the sequence ends, so it is not nice and smooth as stinger should be.


You're absolutely right but I'm making just some test to know Vmix in detail.
bluesgeek  
#16 Posted : Friday, November 1, 2019 2:50:56 AM(UTC)
bluesgeek

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 7/6/2017(UTC)
Posts: 39

Thanks: 48 times
Originally Posted by: spino Go to Quoted Post
spino wrote:
-TA_ wrote:
spino wrote:
-TA_ wrote:
DWAM wrote:
Just found this in an old topic. From Martin himself... Not tested
Quote:
There is some undocumented support for sounds with image sequences that I didn't have time to add to the UI in 16.
If you create a wav or mp3 file with the same name as the first image it will be loaded and used automatically.

So if image001.png is the first image set the sound to be image001.png.wav

This works



Not here. I loaded both mp3 and wav files renamed with the first image png but it didn't work. Please, can you give me the steps you made?
Thank you.

I don't remember steps but in the same folder I have png's and mp3. First png is xxx.png and sound file is xxx.png.mp3


I did the same but it doesn't work. I'll try again.



OK, I found the problem. The audio file must be present in the same folder of the image sequence BEFORE to add a stinger. If you add the stinger and after that you add the music to the folder, it doesn't work. Actually there is a problem: if you have a music longer than the image sequence, it goes on even after the transition (with multiview method this not happens). So, I think that the better method to add music to a stinger is the multiview.


I have found the Multiview method to not work well for me. A simple swoosh WAV that is timed with the stinger starts in the middle of the audio and at other times does not play at all. Using the file renaming method words perfectly. It is also useful when playing a swoosh for the audio to extend past the stinger transition (which is a "feature" of using this method).
郭子涵  
#17 Posted : Wednesday, November 6, 2019 9:41:41 PM(UTC)
郭子涵

Rank: Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 5/25/2019(UTC)
Posts: 23
China

Thanks: 2 times
you can use “.Mov”!
bluesgeek  
#18 Posted : Monday, November 18, 2019 4:32:07 AM(UTC)
bluesgeek

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 7/6/2017(UTC)
Posts: 39

Thanks: 48 times
Originally Posted by: 郭子涵 Go to Quoted Post
you can use “.Mov”!


What are you referring to? Thank you.

doggy  
#19 Posted : Monday, November 18, 2019 4:48:20 AM(UTC)
doggy

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 12/27/2012(UTC)
Posts: 4,212
Belgium
Location: Belgium

Thanks: 243 times
Was thanked: 757 time(s) in 617 post(s)
Originally Posted by: bluesgeek Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: 郭子涵 Go to Quoted Post
you can use “.Mov”!


What are you referring to? Thank you.



a MOV video file with audio included !

Also having an audio file in your image sequence is an option (see help files)

Users browsing this topic
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.