logo

Live Production Software Forums

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
SHMD  
#1 Posted : Thursday, January 26, 2017 8:44:16 PM(UTC)
SHMD

Groups: Registered
Canada

Was thanked: 52 time(s) in 31 post(s)
I am new to PC builds but have a question about the Ruby build...as I just came across this in another post I made.

Does the ruby build support an 8 lane BMD Quad 2 if a x16 GPU is installed?

On the Vmix Reference Systems page the Ruby specs have the BMD Quad 2 listed which is an x8 card

I was just reading through my Gigabyte Z170MX-Gaming 5 Intel Z170 booklet and it has the following listed:

Expansion Slots

1. 1 x PCI Express x16 slot, running at x16 (PCIEX16)
* For optimum performance, if only one PCI Express graphics card is to be installed, be sure to install it in the PCIEX16 slot.

2. 1 x PCI Express x16 slot, running at x8 (PCIEX8)
* The PCIEX8 slot shares bandwidth with the PCIEX16 slot. When the PCIEX8 slot is populated, the PCIEX16 slot will operate at up to x8 mode.

3. 1 x PCI Express x16 slot, running at x4 (PCIEX4)
* The PCIEX4 slot shares bandwidth with the M2H_32G connector. The PCIEX4 slot will become unavailable when an SSD is installed in the M2H_32G connector.

4. 4 x PCI Express x1 slots
(All of the PCI Express slots conform to PCI Express 3.0 standard.)

Thanks, as I already have the build almost done, but was just about to order the capture cards... so hopefully someone with a bit of experince can help me out with the question?

-sheldon

NiBTour  
#2 Posted : Friday, January 27, 2017 5:52:07 AM(UTC)
NiBTour

Man
United States

Was thanked: 18 time(s) in 17 post(s)
SHMD wrote:
I am new to PC builds but have a question about the Ruby build...as I just came across this in another post I made.

Does the ruby build support an 8 lane BMD Quad 2 if a x16 GPU is installed?