logo

Live Production Software Forums

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
gregfr  
#1 Posted : Monday, March 25, 2013 9:34:45 AM(UTC)
gregfr

Groups: Registered

Hello Community

I'm a developer but I'm completly new to vMix. My goal is to "inject" images as overlays during a live event (something like Bloomberg's ticker).

The updated media will be computer generated by my code, so it can be in whatever format is best suited.

I found that vMix proposes a lot of features (including APis yeah!), but I'm not sure which one is the best for what I need.

Any advise?

TIA

greg
jwolthuis  
#2 Posted : Tuesday, March 26, 2013 6:21:17 AM(UTC)
jwolthuis

Was thanked: 9 time(s) in 6 post(s)
Your best choice of input-type for programmatically-generated content is the XAML input. vMix will auto-run the first Storyboard contained in your UserControl. At that point, you can use pixel shaders running on the GPU, or control content via a Property Page.

There is no callable API, although there is an Interface that you can inplement in your code to show your Property Page.

Jon
Egriswold  
#3 Posted : Tuesday, March 26, 2013 12:01:40 PM(UTC)
Egriswold

Man
United States

Was thanked: 33 time(s) in 32 post(s)
If this information has already been rendered and view-able with a browser then you could use the desktop capture feature.
Point the capture to you browse then some position and cropping adjustments for placement and you have it ready for an overlay channel.
Really easy to do.
gregfr  
#4 Posted : Tuesday, March 26, 2013 1:36:20 PM(UTC)
gregfr

Thanks for your answer.

I'm not familiar with XAML; how dynamic is it? If I change something (like a picture) on the server side, how can I trigger the change on-screen?

My goal is to have something like the "media folder" source (which imports a list of images then the user can select "next image") - but dynamic.
gregfr