logo

Live Production Software Forums

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
nethfel  
#1 Posted : Wednesday, December 14, 2016 11:00:21 AM(UTC)
nethfel

Groups: Registered

Hi all,

I'm VERY new to vMix; I've done enough to be dangerous at this point ;)

So, my question is - I need to do a test event before our real event in February. I'm planning on using my laptop to do the stream, but I was hoping for some input to make sure it's enough to do what I need.

Ok so inputs need:

1 live feed, source 720p60, includes master audio feed
1 full screen title
1 lower thirds overlay with about 6 or 7 title entries

Output:
720p30 YouTube LiveStream 2.5mbps (possibly lower res and bitrate depending on what bandwidth I have available when I get to the location) FFMPEG encoder

System:
i7 6700HQ 2.6/35
16 gig DDR 4
NVidia GTX970m w/ 6gig

I haven't installed on this particular laptop yet, but before I did I was hoping for some input in terms of if this should work OK (the laptop is an existing one, I'm not buying one specific. The actual event in Feb will use a full desktop system with multiple live feeds, titles, video inputs, etc. - this test event is for me to really experience the software during a not-nearly as important event.)
Kelvin  
#2 Posted : Wednesday, December 14, 2016 11:40:41 AM(UTC)
Kelvin

Was thanked: 37 time(s) in 37 post(s)
That laptop is more than enough to handle your needs.
thanks 1 user thanked Kelvin for this useful post.
nethfel on 12/14/2016(UTC)
nethfel  
#3 Posted : Wednesday, December 14, 2016 11:53:50 AM(UTC)
nethfel

Awesome! I really didn't want to lug a desktop where we are going to do the test stream from!