logo

Live Production Software Forums

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
peterg  
#1 Posted : Monday, January 28, 2013 7:49:14 AM(UTC)
peterg

Groups: Registered

Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
I'm new to vMix and I'm testing some basic functionality for the second day now. I can't say enough how impressed I am so far with the performance and functionality of this software.

Here is a short review of a first time user.

My test setup is average: Windows 7 with I5 2500, 8 meg ram and Nvidia GTS 450. The project and display settings are 720p50 and all video sources from disk are also 720p50. It makes most sense to keep it in this format throughout the project, to reduce load, keep the highest quality and be ready to feed broadcast switcher, recorder etc.

All my video is in Windows Media format. With 8-9 mbit/sec it looks great, although Quick time H264 is comparable for the same data rate, but unfortunately it does not work in vMix 64 bit version because Quick time application is only 32 bit and will probably remain so. Mpeg 2 does not work very well (audio tearing and high data rate), and AVI looks outdated too.

I can play 4 video overlays over background video with only about 50-55% CPU load. When I add color correction and geometrical transforms to all 4 overlay videos, the CPU load does not show almost any increase. This shows how good the vMix is using Cuda on the Nvidia card. On top of all that (5 videos with effects) I can add another PiP with border and the load does not go over 62%, and the quality on external screen is as good as it gets (720 streched over 1920x1200 display.