logo

Live Production Software Forums

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Saieash  
#1 Posted : Sunday, May 1, 2016 9:30:00 PM(UTC)
Saieash

Groups: Registered

I'm new to vMix and I have tried out the demo a while ago, however I need a solution soon and I was wondering if I should take the plunge and get this software. I want to do some live broadcasting in an event (there will be screens on either side of the stage). A while back, I tried using vMix getting inputs from capture cards form cameras but there seems to be noticeable latency going through vMix. I tried this a while back and it might be improved now and the capture card I was using was far from top of the line.

So I was wondering, what do you think is the cause of this lag? I think I read somewhere that vMix has a 2 or 3 frames lag, but this was much more noticeable than that. It was easily 0.5 seconds of lag - at least - which means at least 12 frames, which is significantly higher than the 3 frames.

What do you think the cause of the lag was? Do you think the issue was the capture card? Or maybe was my computer too slow? It was a decent i7 laptop, and cpu usage was barely increased. So I don't think the issue is there. Was it because I tried it out a while ago? Has latency improved in the newer version of vMix?
Or is the issue that it is a software solution? Should I go with a hardware switcher instead of going through software? I was thinking of something like the Blackmagic ATEM Television Studio. What do you think?
Ed Tech  
#2 Posted : Monday, May 2, 2016 8:19:32 AM(UTC)
Ed Tech

Was thanked: 5 time(s) in 5 post(s)
The forum may need to know a little bit more.
My experience has been that any i7 should be sufficient for most situations, but you might let us know what processor and how much ram.