logo

Live Production Software Forums

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
geoffreydean  
#1 Posted : Sunday, January 17, 2016 5:05:51 PM(UTC)
geoffreydean

Groups: Registered

I'm new to the vMix world but I think I'm ready to pull the trigger on a system. This post has two goals: 1 - to share my experience with the new Thunderbolt 3 thing that has made laptop shopping confusing. And 2 - to ask for help finding a laptop.

My plan is to purchase the following:

Pretty decent laptop - probably in the $2500 range. Preferably one with two Thunderbolt-2 ports if possible.
(2) Epiphan AVio SDI to Thunderbolt interface thingys $379 x 2 = $758 http://www.epiphan.com/products/avio-sdi/
If I can't find a laptop with two thunderbolt-2 ports I guess I'll spring for a AJA lo4K which can take up to four cameras into one Thunderbolt port. $2000 https://www.aja.com/en/products/io-4k

So as of January 2016 it seems all the new laptops have something called Thunderbolt 3. Different manufacturers call it different things for instance MSI calls it a "Superport." The problem according to an AJA tech support guy, is there are no cables to connect a Thunderbolt-3 computer to a Thunderbolt-2 device (like the AJA lo4K). Addition problems I've encountered: VERY few people in the computer sales business know anything about Thunderbolt. And you can't even search for laptops using Thunderbolt because no computer retailer website even consistently lists it as a feature.