logo

Live Production Software Forums

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
DThompson55  
#1 Posted : Saturday, March 26, 2022 10:30:09 AM(UTC)
DThompson55

Groups: Registered
United States

Was thanked: 3 time(s) in 3 post(s)
Our church has been using VMix for over a year, but I'm kind of new to it. They asked me if I could fill in for the main tech who's going on vacation. They walked me through a typical service and it just seemed to me that they were clicking way too many things and had to remember way too many procedural steps at every scene. They follow a printed run book for each services that tell them which asset to queue up, and then click fade to move it to the right side view, and then look back at the run book, decide if there's an overlay, click that, find the next asset by number queue that up, etc. and it just seems like a lot of clicking and looking at the run book and lots of room for errors. Is that the way it's supposed to work?

paco3346  
#2 Posted : Saturday, March 26, 2022 11:18:41 AM(UTC)
paco3346

United States

Was thanked: 34 time(s) in 31 post(s)
As with most other software there are a lot of ways to use things. Most experienced vMix users use some form of automation whether its through triggers, scripting, or external devices.

It sounds like the existing tech people at your church are either unaware of some of the automation features or feel more comfortable triggering things by hand. A great stepping stone may be to use something like a Stream Deck (https://www.elgato.com/en/stream-deck).

vMix has a native integration for the Stream Deck or you can use some free third party software (https://bitfocus.io/companion/) that has more features but takes a bit more to set up.
thanks 1 user thanked paco3346 for this useful post.
DThompson55 on 3/26/2022(UTC)
Caroline  
#3 Posted : Wednesday, May 18, 2022 5:24:46 AM(UTC)
Caroline

Canada