logo

Live Production Software Forums

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
jackiez90  
#1 Posted : Wednesday, February 10, 2021 3:02:51 AM(UTC)
jackiez90

Groups: Registered

Hey guys, I'm pretty novice with vMix and have a few questions. Not sure if this is the right place to ask though, because it's more about external hardware than vmix itself.

Recently I fell into a few jobs filming live events and with one upcoming event it's absolutely necessary that I provide delayed instant replay at the gate so competitors can see their run after leaving the arena. I've never done this before and I'm next to clueless about what hardware I'll need to pull this off. Someone told me I can run an HDMI cord straight from my computer to an external monitor, but I don't want to put all the recording strain on my computer. Is there a way I could record it to an external SSD and then to the monitor? Could anyone give me insight on what equipment I'd need to do this? Maybe I'm just over thinking it, but any advice I could get would be appreciated.

TIA
Radiotvpat1982  
#2 Posted : Thursday, February 11, 2021 2:44:03 AM(UTC)
Radiotvpat1982

Was thanked: 14 time(s) in 10 post(s)
There are a bunch of great Youtube resources on VMIX and even VMIX replay.

More info is needed in your situation though. Full replay needs a Pro license while a single angle needs a 4K license.

There is also a built-in video delay feature which may be the exact thing you need but separate from standard replay.

As far as capture, it's recommended to have a devoted SSD to record to for replay purposes. It needs to write at a certain speed. Hopefully, this gets you started.
jackiez90  
#3 Posted : Thursday, February 11, 2021 5:35:55 AM(UTC)
jackiez90