logo

Live Production Software Forums

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
webdewd  
#1 Posted : Thursday, January 7, 2021 5:51:12 AM(UTC)
webdewd

Groups: Registered
Man
United States

Greetings, my first post here...

I would like to know if anyone has or can make a time title (widget?) that rotates through all 4 timezones while I broadcast. I am new to GT so I have no idea how to do this. I would love to have the title wait 20 to 30 seconds after each time it switches zones ... please? thank you!! This would look SO professional!

Take care,
Dave
Babbit  
#2 Posted : Friday, January 8, 2021 1:53:51 AM(UTC)
Babbit

United States

Was thanked: 26 time(s) in 20 post(s)
It won't be the easiest thing in the world, but it's still doable. You'll have to resort to some scripting since the differing time zones throws a wrench into things.

When you create your GT title, you'll want to have a text field with animations set up on the DataChangeIn and DataChangeOut events on that specific field (i.e. DataChangeIn(yourfield.text) in the dropdown menu). Remember the name of that field (i.e. myTime).

Add the GT title to your vMix project. Name the input to something you like (i.e. myTimeInput).

Add the following script to your vMix project (in the settings section). You'll need to reference a few things and tweak as you like:

Code:
'Variables we need to set values here for function
dim Input as String = "myTimeInput" 'Input Name of GT Title
dim Field as String = "myTime" 'Field Name Being Changed in GT Title
dim Format as String = "h:mm tt" 'Designated Time format 
dim d as Integer = 5000 'Pause between changing times in milliseconds

'Variables that we will change on each instance of use
dim tz as String 'Time Zone Abbreviation
dim Offset as Integer 'Hours difference from UTC for Time Zone

Do While True

Offset = -5
tz = "EST"