logo

Live Production Software Forums

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
m_elias  
#1 Posted : Monday, September 21, 2020 1:57:02 AM(UTC)
m_elias

Groups: Registered
Canada

We use vMix at our church. The music is usually louder then the speaking portions and when I watch the replay or live stream I find it necessary to adjust the volume on my device when we switch between the two. How do others deal with this?
m_elias  
#2 Posted : Monday, November 16, 2020 2:29:14 AM(UTC)
m_elias

Canada

I can adjust the presenter's mic louder in the stream but when the musician's mics get used for speaking, it's again quieter in the stream.
kross  
#3 Posted : Monday, November 16, 2020 3:01:22 PM(UTC)
kross

United States

Was thanked: 27 time(s) in 27 post(s)
I'm no expert, but since no one else is answering, I'll take a stab.

Have you tried going to the audio settings for that input, and enabling the Compressor? If that doesn't do what you want, you can add VST audio plugins. Look for an auto gain control VST plugin.
DWAM  
#4 Posted : Monday, November 16, 2020 6:24:53 PM(UTC)
DWAM

Man
France

Was thanked: 794 time(s) in 589 post(s)
Use an audio guy, a mixer and balance the mix
OR
isolate each audio source as different inputs in vMix so that you have control over the final mix
m_elias  
#5 Posted : Tuesday, November 17, 2020 1:30:48 AM(UTC)
m_elias

Canada

I'll look into those suggestions, thanks.

I'm hoping to make due with the audio guy already mixing for the FOH. I think the issue lies in that as a live venue, we like the music a little louder then speaking and the room allows for that but streaming on a TV doesn't allow for such dynamics.
DWAM  
#6 Posted : Tuesday, November 17, 2020 2:59:40 AM(UTC)
DWAM

Man
France

Was thanked: 794 time(s) in 589 post(s)