logo

Live Production Software Forums

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
melody  
#1 Posted : Tuesday, July 7, 2020 9:03:29 PM(UTC)

Groups: Registered

Hi all, i dont know if this is the appropriate forum to post this, but here goes...

First of all, i love Windows and i have worked with Windows since i remember to start using my old first computer (Windows 95). I studied with other windows enthusiasts and i never thought about stop using Windows... SINCE NOW.

Recently i have experienced so many bugs and issues on Windows 10, i readed a comment on another topic about a user that simply was tired of dealing with Windows issues on its own computer and im on that point too... im completly tired of dealing with stability issues and buggy updates, every time Windows shows me an update notification my hands start to shake, every big update simply screws my network, audio and graphics configurations.

That said, Windows is done for me, its time to move on, its time to try Linux and i will explore all the available alternatives to migrate all my productions to Linux.

For now, im trying some distros like Manjaro, Ubuntu, PopOS, Deepin and the new WindowsFX (from LinuxFX team).

Steam has launched a plugin called Proton which allows some games to Run on Linux and Mac, its evolving and more games are being supported.

Once vMix is not native supporting Linux, i Will try some Windows compatible developments using Wine and PlayOnLinux. PlayOnLinux allows a similar Windows installations like its done on windows environment by run .exe and .msi files, it is realy interesting.

For those who want to move to Linux or want to help someone to move to Linux, your help and feedback is appreciated.

Lets see what the future is holding for us.

Cheers,

Melody
mavik  
#2 Posted : Wednesday, July 8, 2020 1:31:30 AM(UTC)
mavik

Man

Was thanked: 166 time(s) in 148 post(s)