logo

Live Production Software Forums

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Ash  
#1 Posted : Thursday, May 29, 2014 3:18:08 AM(UTC)
Ash

Groups: Registered

Was thanked: 11 time(s) in 8 post(s)
Hi All

I have been asked to video a conference. As I have no previous experience with this type of event I am seeking some advice with the audio side .

Do I need
a) wired or wireless
b) type(s) of microphones (lapel,headset or mic on stand.

I had thought of mixing into a small field mixer similar to the Behringer MX400 mixer . I think this is mono out but has 4 channels in and looks ideal to then take directly into the camera.

There may be questions from the audience. How could I cover that?

Thanks for any help.

Ash
ceejay7777  
#2 Posted : Thursday, May 29, 2014 3:42:36 AM(UTC)
ceejay7777

Was thanked: 6 time(s) in 6 post(s)
Wired
On desk stands
Audience questions either:
coupla directional booms with expert handlers!

or

hand mic with long cable and fast-moving helper.
thanks 1 user thanked ceejay7777 for this useful post.
Ash on 5/29/2014(UTC)
richardgatarski  
#3 Posted : Thursday, May 29, 2014 5:12:38 AM(UTC)
richardgatarski

Was thanked: 292 time(s) in 246 post(s)
Ash,
actually audio is more important than video. And what you need to setup depends on the ambitions/expectations of the organizers. You can use one handheld mike for a small Conference, even connected via USB, and mix in vMix. But that is a very limited solution.

Could you describe the Conference a Little bit more? Number of simultaneous presenters on stage, will they be standing still, or move around. Will there be video material presented on stage (eg with audio). How many people in the audience?

Wired mikes, as ceejay7777 suggests, typically needs phantom power, which the MX400 does not have.

Ash  
#4 Posted : Thursday, May 29, 2014 6:18:41 AM(UTC)
Ash