logo

Live Production Software Forums

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
advisiontv  
#1 Posted : Saturday, April 11, 2020 9:00:39 PM(UTC)
advisiontv

Groups: Registered
United Kingdom

Was thanked: 4 time(s) in 4 post(s)
I’m fairly new to vmix - but not new to broadcast tv and communications to video contributors via communications. Ive found myself this week loving vmix thanks to the free trial - and already done a small production involving 4 vmix calls live successfully. But it soon became apparent that I needed to have conversations with each vmix caller separately while another caller is live.
I gathered that having 4 aux buses, one for each caller was an easy way to achieve this, then I could select what each caller hears and talk to them off air. I could even patch together one vmix caller talking to another off air while the third is live oblivious to the other conversations.
However, this is all a bit fiddly and you have to really get your head around what’s going on, especially as auxes C upwards is hidden away with a right click.
So a couple of questions and thoughts...
Seeing as I am rerouting all the audio, I am theoretically creating a mix minus. Could I deactivate any vmix echo cancellation to improve quality of mics dipping in and out as I’m creating a mix minus anyway.
If I had a bigger sound card (something like a focusrite 18i20) with 8 channels of audio out, could I connect it to my external 4 channel xlr talkback system ( so I have a hardware solution of push to talk and hear all 4 callers on my system each with a volume control) or is there a good software equivalent via a stream deck (hoping there is as really it’s just a matrix which routes a single mic to various sources).