logo

Live Production Software Forums

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
patlaw  
#1 Posted : Tuesday, April 8, 2014 5:30:44 PM(UTC)
patlaw

Groups: Registered

The Vmix help file says, "Make sure any external audio sources are connected to the external Audio Mixer instead of vMix. When adding capture (camera) inputs in vMix, the audio source should be set to None." My audio is fed through an external audio mixer to a line input on the computer. The audio should be from that mixer. If I set the audio source to None, there is no audio. If I set it to the sound card, there is audio.

Is there a better tutorial on the way Vmix handles audio? I'm an audio engineer but a video neophyte. The Vmix audio routing is not yet intuitive to me.
bfreemannh  
#2 Posted : Tuesday, April 8, 2014 8:16:02 PM(UTC)
bfreemannh

Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Have you tried adding your audio device as a separate input source?
Go to: Add input\Audio Input\select your audio device.

I think it is better to do this, rather then add it as an audio source with your camera.
patlaw  
#3 Posted : Tuesday, April 8, 2014 10:19:12 PM(UTC)
patlaw

No, I don't understand that configuration. It would be helpful to have something to read to understand the software. I did as you suggested and was able to see audio input, but the audio meters are not moving in the preview. Obviously I have no clue what I'm doing.
ask  
#4 Posted : Tuesday, April 8, 2014 11:57:43 PM(UTC)
ask

Australia

Was thanked: 199 time(s) in 181 post(s)
Have a look at the help files as a starting point. To hear the audio associated with an input you need to click on the"audio" button on that input. You can also see the audio once activated in the Mixer. Click the Speaker Icon button (bottom right of screen) to bring up the Audio Mixer.
patlaw  
#5 Posted : Wednesday, April 9, 2014 7:57:00 AM(UTC)
patlaw

ask wrote: