logo

Live Production Software Forums

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
jahudka  
#1 Posted : Thursday, December 12, 2019 10:41:20 PM(UTC)
jahudka

Groups: Registered
Czech Republic

Hello,

I'd very much like to have a VST / AudioUnit plugin that I could insert on the master bus of my DAW which would allow me to send externally generated / mixed audio to vMix over NDI.

I work as a sound engineer and occasionally I run across the issue of needing to do two separate audio mixes for an event: one for the venue FOH speakers and one for the live stream. Mixing audio for a live event is quite different from mixing audio for a live stream; while I could technically just stream whatever I'm sending to the FOH speakers, it would usually end up sounding all kinds of weird in the stream - for example the drums are usually loud enough that I don't really need to reinforce them through the FOH, so in the stream there would be very little to no drums, compared to e.g. the vocals, of which there would be too much. One solution that I'm currently experimenting with is using the stage mixer as an audio interface during the show, so that while I can mix audio for the FOH using the stage mixer directly, another engineer can do a separate mix in a DAW on a computer which uses the mixer just as an interface. But then I have to get the audio mix from the DAW into vMix somehow. I could in theory run a cable from one of the mixer's outputs to the computer running vMix, but then I need another audio interface for this computer and I have to sacrifice two precious AUX outputs at the mixer to get the analog audio out. Plus there are all sorts of other issues stemming from ground loops, long cable runs etc.