logo

Live Production Software Forums

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
chrisvids  
#1 Posted : Saturday, August 10, 2019 12:25:50 AM(UTC)
chrisvids

Groups: Registered
Austria

Hello!
I'm relatively new to vMix and I'm trying out whether it is an appropriate alternative to Qlab or PlaybackPro on a Windows machine.

Now I tested out a few files and had to realize that some looked way worse than played back via VLC.

My test clip here is a ProRes 422 in 1080i50. Are there settings to change the deinterlacing in vMix? I only found in the "decoder" setup none/blend/discard where no option delivers a good result, so I sticked to blend. In the clip settings it says under "deinterlacing" "Bob UpperFieldFirst". Is there a way to change this setting, it seems like I can't change anything?

Here is a screenshot from playback in vMix:
screenshot_vmic.jpg (1,033kb) downloaded 12 time(s).

and here approximately the same clip position played back in VLC:
screenshot_vlc.jpg (1,097kb) downloaded 13 time(s).

You notice - especially in the subtitles which are burned in the file - how much smoother the image in VLC looks. Also when played back with vMix the subtitles are a bit jittery. I thought it might be a deinterlacing issue with wrong fields but maybe there is something else that I'm missing. Also you see the differences in contrast.

Are there any suggestions what I could do to improve image quality?
In this special case and general recommendations for best settings when focus is playback quality (without live capturing I don't care so much about latency, as the sound tech can adapt the audio delay.
In the "performance" settings of vMix I chose the default graphics adapter which is my GeForce GTX 1070 and enabled "high output performance mode" and chose "smooth" as a display method. vMix is set to 1080p50 which will be my output resolution.