logo

Live Production Software Forums

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
PaulV8  
#1 Posted : Friday, December 21, 2018 11:39:27 PM(UTC)
PaulV8

Groups: Registered
United States

Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
I am new to vMix and am still evaluating the trial. It would be helpful if while showing a PIP as set up in one of the overlays, to be able to move the smaller picture around the screen. You can do that now when you set up an overlay, but I would like to be able to move it around while live in the output. If that's not possible, then be able to move it around in the preview.

The underlying problem has to do with showing a PowerPoint. For example, when showing a PPT, if you want to alter an overlay say to move a smaller PIP around, you click on Overlay to make the changes. At this point, you cannot advance the slides, nor can your speaker advance the slides using a clicker. So maybe the feature that needs to be fixed is to be able to advance PPT slides no matter what is being opened at the time.
DWAM  
#2 Posted : Saturday, December 22, 2018 12:28:59 AM(UTC)
DWAM

Man
France

Was thanked: 794 time(s) in 589 post(s)
We can do this already

Use API commands SetPanX, SetPanY to control your PiP overlay. Best is to use a joystick for live positionning but you can also create fixed shortcuts for each corners.

I know this is a common use in Broadcast switchers but I recommend anyway to create multiviews for such use cases. It's much more professional and good looking to have a nice background with your speaker as a layer and your PPT in another layer... and it avoids the situation you're complaining about

Something like this:
multiview.jpg (224kb) downloaded 0 time(s).

Hope this helps
Guillaume
thanks 1 user thanked DWAM for this useful post.
mjgraves on 12/22/2018(UTC)
PaulV8  
#3 Posted : Saturday, December 22, 2018 12:45:04 AM(UTC)
PaulV8

United States