logo

Live Production Software Forums

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
GloryofGod  
#1 Posted : Tuesday, July 3, 2018 2:18:36 AM(UTC)
GloryofGod

Groups: Registered

I am a video/systems/communications engineer/producer in a 20 year search of a low cost, inconspicuous easy to operate video for the church. I think I have found it... but.

I have done extensive testing with vmix and IP (security cameras). This seems to be the lowest cost and easiest solution. I have installed it in two churches and used it for a multi camera musical.

But I have run into two issues.

First I have done a lot of testing with more than a half dozen high end and low end computers. Most low end computers will handle SD with this system and can work with a $99 camera. This is very valuable for the church in the US since many use community access which is 90% SD (I have done this for 40 years and co-founded two organizations).

The first church is using a HP i3 8GB with HD620 graphics (<$400 new). They have been successfully streaming for months. Simultaneous recording tests OK but may be pushing too far as it is at 70%.

The second church used the same system but with the next gen proc and UHD620 (still <$400). On paper this system is 10% better in CPU and GPU. Streaming goes OK at 2.5Mb/s. But this church has established distribution through local community access so recording at 8Mb/s MPEG2 is their product. The streams are 3 720P H.264. Decoding and proc are total utilization of 25% CPU and 25% GPU. Recording stays at under 70% with no indication of overload. The church is 3 hours away, but what I have been able to asses is no statistical issues are indicated. The recording shows massive frame drop (yet the recording statistic does not show this). I suspect there is more decoding frame dropping than I have been able to asses remotely. Looks like I am going to have to make a trip.