logo

Live Production Software Forums

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
SHMD  
#1 Posted : Thursday, November 2, 2017 8:35:58 AM(UTC)
SHMD

Groups: Registered
Canada

Was thanked: 52 time(s) in 31 post(s)
Just a quick question as I have been using vmix for 2 years now, just the other day I went to do a clean recording of a stream and noticed the user interface has changed in vMix 20. I spent a few minutes fumbiling around but could not figure it out, so I did the recording with all the graphic overlays.

When I had some time after the production it seems to me that I have to make 2 recordings one with overlays one without? It looks like output 1 is locked to the recording/stream/external output. We no longer have checkboxes to remove overlays from just the recording in output 1. If I select to remove overlays in output 1, none showup in the stream. Only way I could get it to work was use output 2 overlays off, but then I had to record output 1 and output 2.

I just need a clean recording that will be used for post edits, highlights etc. I really don’t need 2 recordings... am I missing something simple in the new interface? I am running the 4K version of vMix 20 on the machine in question.

I will check through the vMix tutorial videos to see if updates have been made to show how to use the new vMix20 outputs.

Thanks
-s
admin  
#2 Posted : Thursday, November 2, 2017 9:23:53 PM(UTC)
admin

Groups: Administrators
Man

Was thanked: 4146 time(s) in 1491 post(s)
Hi,

Output 1 in vMix has always been locked to Recording/Streaming/External.
This means Recording and Streaming will always have the same overlay settings.

What we have done in vMix 20 is add two more outputs, and adjusted the layout in Settings -> Outputs so they could all fit in, but functionality remains the same.