logo

Live Production Software Forums

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
KarWreck  
#1 Posted : Monday, March 1, 2021 7:19:50 AM(UTC)
KarWreck

Groups: Registered
New Zealand

Hi All,

I'm fairly new to VMIX and had our first live-stream event happen yesterday.
What I found is I had tearing in the picture(sample here https://business.faceboo...eos/1092394847894941/).I also had the same issue/tearing with streaming to Youtube.

We have 3 Panasonic Cameras running NDI HX(1080p50@16Mbps). VMIX stream setting is H264 1080p 4.5mbps AAC 128k(although I tried the FB 720p 3.5mbps mode as well).

The internet speed onsite was fine(100Mb Up/Down). I also recorded direct to my laptop and there was no tearing in the video.
So I'm kind scratching my head.

Cheers,
Karwreck
kross  
#2 Posted : Thursday, March 4, 2021 5:56:27 AM(UTC)
kross

United States

Was thanked: 27 time(s) in 27 post(s)
Wow, that does look pretty bad. By the way, that isn't tearing, but rather artifacts from a very low bitrate. Tearing is something else entirely.

The bitrate you specified should be high enough. 1080p 4.5 Mbps, or 720p 3.5 Mbps should be enough for a smooth stream, especially for a pool tournament. Are you using software or hardware encoding? Can you share the stream encoder settings?

Since you say the internet is plenty fast, I'd experiment with higher bitrates. I just did a pool tournament this weekend at 8 Mbps, and it looked great.

I also stream pool tournaments (RailbirdsTV on YouTube), and often only stream around 2-3 Mbps over WiFi, and get good results.
KarWreck  
#3 Posted : Thursday, March 4, 2021 10:48:06 AM(UTC)
KarWreck

New Zealand

Hi Kross,

Thank you for the reply(I'm also a fan of RailbirdsTV). I'm using hardware encoding via the laptops GPU(Nvidia2070 8Gb).
On the day I tried 720p as well as 1080p on either FB or Youtube and the artifacts were the same.