logo

Live Production Software Forums

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

2 Pages<12
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
gbh_uk  
#21 Posted : Saturday, November 14, 2020 8:38:18 AM(UTC)
gbh_uk

Groups: Registered
United Kingdom

Originally Posted by: gbh_uk Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: admin Go to Quoted Post
Hi All,

The good news is Canon can easily fix this to get it supported in apps like vMix in a future update.

We can work around the limitations of 2 and work on a custom plugin for it if there is a lot of interest, but the limited resolution
and frame rate does limit the potential somewhat so would be interested in hearing your thoughts?

Hi - I'm very new to vMix (and streaming in general really) and am currently in the 60 day trial phase.

I must say that I much prefer vMix to OBS in terms of look-and-feel and functionality, however the only camera that I have available for me to use is a Canon EOS-RP - which works well in OBS with the EOS Webcam utility, but not at all in vMix.

I realise reading through this thread that I'm only getting a resolution of 1024x576. That prompted me to borrow a friend's Logitech Brio and I do feel that the quality and flexibility of the Canon lens more than makes up for the lesser resolution.
For example I can open up the aperture and throw the background into soft focus with the subject still remaining quite sharp. At least sharp enough for a 720p stream. That's nigh-on impossible to achieve with a webcam.

I'm looking into getting a capture card and I'm looking into that but I wasn't really looking to add more kit or spend more money than I have to.

The option I'm using as a workaround is to feed the camera to OBS and output it as a virtual cam and feed it into vMix. But that keeps OBS in the chain.

If I may ask a couple of quick questions with regard to the quoted reply above: