logo

Live Production Software Forums

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
STADIORADIO  
#1 Posted : Monday, January 29, 2018 6:08:39 PM(UTC)
STADIORADIO

Groups: Registered
Man

Was thanked: 3 time(s) in 3 post(s)

Good evening. I open this discussion to share with you my experience with hdmi extenders.

I have come to the conclusion that there is something limits the use of the same with Vmix, or with the blackmagic design cards.

I've been using Vmix for three years, starting from the bottom. I started my first experiences with low quality acquisition cards and low performance PCs.

Over time I chose to use HDMI connections. I purchased a Decklink Minirecorder and recently an Intensity pro 4k.

Since we shoot football matches, we need to connect the cameras in points far from the pc, up to 100 meters away, so we need extender hdmi.

Today I can say that I was lucky, because the first extender I bought immediately worked, I say because the second purchase I can not find one that brings the signal to Vmix. Attention the extender work, because if I connect the output of a camera, to a monitor through the extender, I can see the image, while Vmix shows me only a beautiful blue. I tried several extenders but I always had a lot of difficulties.

Maybe I was wrong to choose the Hdmi, instead of an SDI, or maybe Vmix or Blackmagic acquisition cards have limits. Unfortunately on this forum I have not found exhaustive answers, and at the moment I do not know what route to take.

I would like to further improve the quality of the connections but I do not know how to move.

Thank you
SportsNetUSA.net  
#2 Posted : Monday, January 29, 2018 8:29:55 PM(UTC)
SportsNetUSA.net

Was thanked: 123 time(s) in 115 post(s)