logo

Live Production Software Forums

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Mike82  
#1 Posted : Thursday, May 28, 2020 1:09:59 AM(UTC)
Mike82

Groups: Registered

Hi, I've been using Vmix for almost a month. Everything works great but I have one problem with Vmix call.
The problem is when two callers are talking at the same time. Audio drops during simultaneous conversation and they cannot hear each other.
Do you know what the problem is and and how to solve it?

Regards

Mike
mjgraves  
#2 Posted : Thursday, May 28, 2020 1:31:06 AM(UTC)
mjgraves

Man
United States

Was thanked: 263 time(s) in 233 post(s)
Then problem may not be vMix Call specifically, it could be the behavior of the WebRTC audio processes in the browser. IME, they just don't handle what's known as "double-talk" well. I have a lot of experience with this in my day job with an audio conferencing company.

If the WebRTC application allows the user to toggle the audio processing (AGC, EC, NR) you may be able to mitigate this a bit. However, you do it at your peril.

Turn off echo cancellation (ec) and any vMix Call guest not using a headset will utterly destroy the audio experience of the program.

In fact, some USB headsets and sounds interface have a similar problem. They degrade the sound from the microphone while there is also sound to the earpieces. This was a problem with a generation of common USB audio interface chips.

I discovered this using a Plantronics Blackwire C320 headset. I chased them on it for 6 months and all they were able to do is replace it with a most costly model.

So, the problem you are experiencing could be browser related (most likely) or it could be equipment related.
KnKproductions  
#3 Posted : Thursday, May 28, 2020 1:40:41 AM(UTC)
KnKproductions

United States

Was thanked: 13 time(s) in 11 post(s)