logo

Live Production Software Forums

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
trglosser  
#1 Posted : Tuesday, February 11, 2020 11:39:00 AM(UTC)
trglosser

Groups: Registered
United States

Hi! I'm relatively new to using vMix. My previous livestreaming setup was SD with the venerable old Videonics MX-1 mixers using RG-6 cable, RCA A/V jacks, and a USB capture card to get my video to the computer. We did use the free vMix version for a few months before I purchased the vMix HD, so I am not completely new to using/navigating the software, but this is my first attempt at HD livestreaming, and the first time using solely a software mixer with no hardware beyond the video capture devices.

Here is where I am now:

I am using a DigitNow BR139 HDMI to USB video capture device to get my video from my Canon Vixia HF R800 cameras to VMIX HD Basic through USB 3.0 cables. Sometimes I get perfect video, and at other times I get the bottom half of the screen as static or static on the whole screen. I noticed that I can see all of my cameras beautifully through Skype, but that only shows that the video is getting to the computer. The computer is not new, but exceeds the minimum required system specs. The cameras, capture devices, and cables are all new.

This is my video capture device:

DigitNow BR139 Video Capture Device

Is there a setting that I can use to get rid of the static? I started with the default settings that vMix recommended when I selected the capture card from the drop-down list.

I have a feeling this is going to have to be a short term solution, since I have multiple cameras (more than 4) that will comprise my final setup, but for now I just need to get 2 going at a time, which is why I'm using USB 3.0... plus is was the most budget-friendly way to get upgraded to HD. Thanks in advance for any advice you can offer!

Tom
dmwkr