logo

Live Production Software Forums

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Yuniao  
#1 Posted : Wednesday, February 5, 2020 6:37:20 AM(UTC)
Yuniao

Groups: Registered
France

Hello guys,

First of all sorry if all this sound dumb, but I'm kinda new to Vmix and "large" production and I need to scale up my streaming project ( almost 30 inputs oO )
I have already read some topics saying that having 1 computer dedicated to the Stream and 1 dedicated to the production is one of the best solution. Even read having 1 more would be the very best.

I do believe I understand it allows the Streaming Computer to only retrieve the Out Signal of the production, avoiding charging CGU with tons of inputs & output, meaning a flawless stream.

Am I Correct ? Or this just allow to split inputs ?

For example, I would think about the production computer handling the different inputs coming from differents computers , and the streaming computer only retrieving the Out signal and also some Cameras as inputs. This would indeed split inputs and also split tasks. This way one operator on the prod computer can focus on which computer to display, and the other operator on the streaming computer can handle switching from the Prod Computer Input and the differents Cameras he has in inputs, and Ads, or break, etc.

Don't know which is the best solution or the optimized one, but would love to understand in order to know which with components I need to build the differents computers to optimize everything.
And also know if it's best to handle everything in a single Computer or split task.
I can see Pros & Cons in both solution.

I know there are ATEM solution, or EC, but I'm looking for a cheaper solution and a way to handle almost everything with 1 man or 2.