logo

Live Production Software Forums

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
bjustice  
#1 Posted : Tuesday, December 4, 2018 9:44:15 AM(UTC)
bjustice

Groups: Registered

Hello everyone!

Disclaimer: I am an aerospace engineer and am out of my element here. Nonetheless, I need find a solution that will meet the following requirements:
- Record 30 3G-SDI streams
- all streams at 1080p60
- Only need to record for 500 seconds intervals
- Need to encode/save as MPEG-2 format

Here are my collected thoughts so far:

- Use VMIX multicorder software.
- Build 2 machines. Each machine will be responsible for recording up to 16 channels each
- Use BlackMagic Decklink Quad 2 capture cards. (2 cards per machine)
- Use BlackMagic MPEG-2 codec. (My vague understanding is that the capture cards perform the encoding rather than GPU or CPU?)
- Each capture card needs 8 gen2 PCIE lanes, so I need 16 PCIE lanes to CPU for each machine solely for these cards
- Use 2 Samsung Evo 960 NVMe in RAID 0 format. This will consume 4 PCIE lanes each. (If each stream consumes 100Mbits/second, then that's 1.6Gbits/second of required write speed to hard drive)
- motherboard/CPU with atleast 4 full PCIE slots with 8 dedicated PCIe lanes to each slot. (I haven't picked a board or CPU yet.)
- 32GB DDR4 RAM

Again, I only have a vague understanding of what I'm doing. I have a list of things that I don't quite understand yet:

- My understanding is that the BlackMagic capture cards have onboard FPGA that will encode the SDI input into MPEG-2 without having to pass the uncompressed video through the GPU or CPU. Is this true, or am I incorrect?
- My understanding is that the capture card will push the encoded MPEG-2 video to the CPU which then reroutes to the SSDs. As such, I shouldn't need very much GPU. Rather, I simply need to make sure that CPU can handle the PCIe lane number