logo

Live Production Software Forums

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
SteveP  
#1 Posted : Wednesday, March 7, 2018 10:43:35 AM(UTC)
SteveP

Groups: Registered

I am very new to using NDI. In fact I am going to begin more testing this week. Here is my questions.

1. Using NDI VLC Plugin I can access any computer or camera with this plugin on a network. Can I then stream across the network so any computer can receive a broadcast similar to live streaming on youtube? Is there a tutorial that shows how to do this?

2. I wanted to test the NDI VLC Plugin at home however for some reason it does not install on a home network. Is there a reason why?

Thank you,
kane  
#2 Posted : Wednesday, March 7, 2018 9:28:56 PM(UTC)
kane

Was thanked: 143 time(s) in 94 post(s)
SteveP wrote:
I am very new to using NDI. In fact I am going to begin more testing this week. Here is my questions.

1. Using NDI VLC Plugin I can access any computer or camera with this plugin on a network. Can I then stream across the network so any computer can receive a broadcast similar to live streaming on youtube? Is there a tutorial that shows how to do this?

2. I wanted to test the NDI VLC Plugin at home however for some reason it does not install on a home network. Is there a reason why?

Thank you,

1. Yes, but don't take that as a big YES. By default NDI uses unicast communication, so each client that connects to the stream will use it's own channel of bandwidth. If you only have a few clients that want to watch, this this probably isn't a problem, but if you have a dozen of more, you will probably run out of network bandwidth. NDI v3 does support multicast which can allow you only use the bandwidth of a single channel of video, but it does require specific network equipment and switch configuration so that multicast can work correctly.