logo

Live Production Software Forums


Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
JW  
#1 Posted : Thursday, January 19, 2023 3:09:09 AM(UTC)
JW

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 6/25/2017(UTC)
Posts: 79

Thanks: 25 times
Was thanked: 8 time(s) in 7 post(s)
Since vMix25, a warning is given when closing vMix if there are unsaved changes in the current preset.
This is handy in itself, but the warning also comes up if there is a different input in the program than what vMix starts with.

This is irritating because the situation at the end of a livestream is often different than when it starts.
(for instance when displaying a welcome and goodbye screen)

For volunteers, this is confusing and if they press save, vMix does not start up properly the next time.

I would like an option to turn this alert off, or ignoring what is in program when vMix is closing.



Edit: I made a work around with this VB script:

On Error Resume Next
Dim o
Set o = CreateObject("MSXML2.XMLHTTP")
o.open "GET", "http://127.0.0.1:8088/api/?Function=CutDirect&Input=x", False
o.send
o.open "GET", "http://127.0.0.1:8088/api/?Function=PreviewInput&Input=y", False
o.send

(x=program input number and y=preview input number)


And this batch file is a work around for when the preset is accidentally overwritten with other changes:

del /f /q D:\vMix\"vMix Preset.vmix"
copy /y D:\vMix\"vMix Preset (backup).vmix" D:\vMix\"vMix Preset.vmix"
start "" "D:\vMix\vMix Preset.vmix

(this way you always have a backup preset)

With this solution the VB script is not necessary.
WaltG12  
#2 Posted : Thursday, January 26, 2023 12:26:26 PM(UTC)
WaltG12

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 7/4/2021(UTC)
Posts: 127
United States

Thanks: 3 times
Was thanked: 20 time(s) in 20 post(s)
Windows allows files to be designated as "Read Only" by right clicking and going into the Properties menu.

It'll still prompt the notification, but if "Save" is selected, it'll generate an error and won't overwrite.

It's a good, simple solution for anyone who just absent mindedly clicks "Save".
Users browsing this topic
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.