vMix - Live Production Software
Live Production Software Forums       www.vmix.com
Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Log In | Register

2 Pages12>
Untag as favorite
New AMD Ryzen Computer Build with vMix
RichShumaker
#1 Posted : Tuesday, 21 March 2017 8:15:34 AM
Rank: Advanced Member

Medals:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 4/04/2016
Posts: 146
Location: Los Angeles CA

Thanks: 76 times
Was thanked: 21 time(s) in 18 post(s)
Has anyone used AMD new Ryzen CPU and the RX480 with vMix?

Here is a link to a great build by Max for use by 4K content creation.
http://youtu.be/Rl_ioGy2dds
His conclusion was that this is the best bang for the buck right now.
Seems like a great alternative build for the cost conscious.
That is of course if it would work with vMix as well as Intel / nVidia does.

Thanks everyone.

Rich Shumaker
dark_ata
#2 Posted : Tuesday, 21 March 2017 7:01:19 PM
Rank: Advanced Member

Medals:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 10/08/2015
Posts: 102
Location: Tenerife

Thanks: 5 times
Was thanked: 13 time(s) in 10 post(s)
I think that Ryzen is useless for vmix it have one pciex16 or 2 x8. For postpo is a great option
1 user thanked dark_ata for this useful post.
RichShumaker on 24/03/2017
RichShumaker
#3 Posted : Wednesday, 22 March 2017 1:40:48 AM
Rank: Advanced Member

Medals:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 4/04/2016
Posts: 146
Location: Los Angeles CA

Thanks: 76 times
Was thanked: 21 time(s) in 18 post(s)
dark_ata wrote:
I think that Ryzen is useless for vmix it have one pciex16 or 2 x8. For postpo is a great option


That makes perfect sense.

I wonder how far it could go then?
Could you do a 4K production with it using NDI and a single capture card?
Could it do a 4 camera HD production with a X8 Graphics card and a X8 Capture Card?

I know that I read that nVidia and vMix are like Hot Knife and Butter so that was why I was asking,
"Has anyone tried AMD? What happen?"

Thanks dark_ata for your comment and I totally understand now the limitations.
It is very similar to a laptop in regards to it's limitations.
So maybe you slap a thunderbolt 3 card in the Ryzen MB second slot and call it a laptop alternative, heheh.
SportsNetUSA.net
#4 Posted : Thursday, 23 March 2017 9:32:58 AM
Rank: Advanced Member

Medals:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 6/10/2015
Posts: 417
Location: California

Thanks: 83 times
Was thanked: 88 time(s) in 81 post(s)
On the vMix Fun Time Live Show March Edition, Martin and Tim said they were going to build a Ryzen system to test in the coming weeks.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eaAKyhemkB0
RichShumaker
#5 Posted : Thursday, 23 March 2017 11:32:51 AM
Rank: Advanced Member

Medals:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 4/04/2016
Posts: 146
Location: Los Angeles CA

Thanks: 76 times
Was thanked: 21 time(s) in 18 post(s)
SportsNetUSA.net wrote:
On the vMix Fun Time Live Show March Edition, Martin and Tim said they were going to build a Ryzen system to test in the coming weeks.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eaAKyhemkB0


That's Perfect and thanks for the update.

The more I think about the Ryzen the more I am treating it like a laptop.
I don't think any motherboards have Thunderbolt 3 like laptops do.
This months show had a great discussion on laptops and was super helpful.

Thanks SportsNetUSA.net

Rich Shumaker
SportsNetUSA.net
#6 Posted : Thursday, 23 March 2017 1:25:13 PM
Rank: Advanced Member

Medals:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 6/10/2015
Posts: 417
Location: California

Thanks: 83 times
Was thanked: 88 time(s) in 81 post(s)
There are some ASUS motherboards that have Thunderbolt with the ASUS ThunderboltEX3 card.

https://www.asus.com/us/Motherbo...cessory/ThunderboltEX-3/

Z170-PREMIUM
Z170-DELUXE
Z170-PRO
Z170-A
Z170-AR
SABERTOOTH Z170 MARK 1
SABERTOOTH Z170 S
MAXIMUS VIII EXTREME
MAXIMUS VIII HERO
MAXIMUS VIII RANGER
X99-DELUXE II
X99-DELUXE
X99-PRO/USB 3.1
X99-PRO
X99-A/USB 3.1
X99-A
X99-A II
X99-E
SABERTOOTH X99
RAMPAGE V EXTREME/U3.1
RAMPAGE V EXTREME

There's the GIGABYTE Z170-UD5 TH motherboard. I would think other manufactures would be making them too.


RichShumaker
#7 Posted : Friday, 24 March 2017 3:14:07 AM
Rank: Advanced Member

Medals:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 4/04/2016
Posts: 146
Location: Los Angeles CA

Thanks: 76 times
Was thanked: 21 time(s) in 18 post(s)
SportsNetUSA.net wrote:
There are some ASUS motherboards that have Thunderbolt with the ASUS ThunderboltEX3 card.

https://www.asus.com/us/Motherbo...cessory/ThunderboltEX-3/

There's the GIGABYTE Z170-UD5 TH motherboard. I would think other manufactures would be making them too.




Seems like the Thunderbolt card would work for any PCI slot so that is a great option to use on a MB with an open slot.
I will research the MB you posted except I did not know if any of those were Ryzen MB's.

Thanks again for your help SportsNetUSA.net

Rich Shumaker
IceStream
#8 Posted : Friday, 24 March 2017 3:25:38 AM
Rank: Advanced Member

Medals:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 7/03/2012
Posts: 2,033
Location: Canada

Thanks: 27 times
Was thanked: 353 time(s) in 335 post(s)
@ RichShumaker

AFAIK, it needs a PCIe x4 slot...


Ice
1 user thanked IceStream for this useful post.
RichShumaker on 24/03/2017
RichShumaker
#9 Posted : Friday, 24 March 2017 4:12:30 AM
Rank: Advanced Member

Medals:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 4/04/2016
Posts: 146
Location: Los Angeles CA

Thanks: 76 times
Was thanked: 21 time(s) in 18 post(s)
IceStream wrote:
@ RichShumaker

AFAIK, it needs a PCIe x4 slot...

Ice


Thank you for the clarification as an X1 or X2 will not work and I had not considered that.
I wonder if a X8 Graphics card will be good enough.
I say that as the Ryzen spec from what was discussed only has 2 PCI slots max in a X8 X8 config and no X16 X4 config that I know of.

Also this Ryzen cost benefit seems to be losing big time in regards to everything else.

I guess I will need to wait and see if the Ryzen build by vMix really is worth while as it seems that the software needs to be well written and multithreaded to make true use of that CPU.
Also from my own usage the GPU is much more necessary in my vMix system and the CPU is not as important, especially if the GPU enabled features are used.

That darn bleeding edge sure does make you bloody.

Rich Shumaker
RichShumaker
#10 Posted : Friday, 24 March 2017 5:41:31 AM
Rank: Advanced Member

Medals:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 4/04/2016
Posts: 146
Location: Los Angeles CA

Thanks: 76 times
Was thanked: 21 time(s) in 18 post(s)
If I am reading this MSI board correctly and I probably am not.
https://www.msi.com/Moth...ctSpecification-section

I could do PCI X8/X8 OR PCI X16.
The Gen 2 X4 PCI is the part that I find interesting as I wonder if that could be used for capture.

So 1 Graphics Card X16 and 1 Capture X4.

Just guesses. Would love to drop a few bills and just try this stuff out.
I know the Intel nVidia combo is solid as a rock so this Ryzen stuff is theory for me as I will stick to intel nVidia for my primary machine on the next build.
Especially with all these issues that have come up.

Rich Shumaker
admin
#11 Posted : Monday, 27 March 2017 9:29:42 PM
Rank: Administration

Medals:

Groups: Administrators
Joined: 12/01/2010
Posts: 3,850
Location: Gold Coast, Australia

Thanks: 0 times
Was thanked: 1917 time(s) in 905 post(s)
We've just completed preliminary testing of our Ryzen setup and the results aren't looking good at this stage.

For vMix workloads, the 1800X is currently ranking below the i7 6850k, with the i7 7700k speeding past both by a fair margin.
NDI maxes out at about 14 inputs (1080p29.97) vs 17 on the 7700k

Most troubling are the very high render times under moderate load. These are significantly higher than even the X99 which wasn't that great to begin with.

We're using the GeForce 1070 in our tests, so some further driver updates may be needed to improve compatibility and results may be better when using
Radeon GPUs.

Hope this helps.

Regards,

Martin
vMix
2 users thanked admin for this useful post.
RichShumaker on 28/03/2017, SportsNetUSA.net on 28/03/2017
RichShumaker
#12 Posted : Tuesday, 28 March 2017 12:22:53 AM
Rank: Advanced Member

Medals:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 4/04/2016
Posts: 146
Location: Los Angeles CA

Thanks: 76 times
Was thanked: 21 time(s) in 18 post(s)
Thanks Martin that is horrible and awesome news.
I think it will help keep many from going down that Ryzen rabbit hole which is very helpful in saving us time and money.

The thing I found interesting when reading and watching benchmarks is that the processor has a neural learning system for knowing what instructions are next.
It would learn how to be better at the benchmarks and then get better on the 2nd 3rd and 4th times, it was weird and cool.
I wonder if in time it will get better at vMix stuff the more it does it, I doubt it though.
Also the Synergy with the RX480 is what would make this a more solid combo if it actually worked.

Time savings are worth their weight in gold and having a solid easy to build easy to use system is key.
Thanks again for checking it out and saving us all the time.

Rich Shumaker
joaopott
#13 Posted : Sunday, 2 April 2017 8:51:08 AM
Rank: Newbie

Medals:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 21/04/2016
Posts: 6
Location: Brasil

Thanks: 0 times
Was thanked: 4 time(s) in 3 post(s)
admin wrote:
We've just completed preliminary testing of our Ryzen setup and the results aren't looking good at this stage.

For vMix workloads, the 1800X is currently ranking below the i7 6850k, with the i7 7700k speeding past both by a fair margin.
NDI maxes out at about 14 inputs (1080p29.97) vs 17 on the 7700k

Most troubling are the very high render times under moderate load. These are significantly higher than even the X99 which wasn't that great to begin with.

We're using the GeForce 1070 in our tests, so some further driver updates may be needed to improve compatibility and results may be better when using
Radeon GPUs.

Hope this helps.

Regards,

Martin
vMix


Thanks Martin,

I was just about to get a 1700/64GB/GTX1080 for second production machine (to work with my current I7 6900/64Gb/GTX1080).
Do you think this poor performance situation with VMIX can change?
Are there any adjustments or "fixes" that can be done on your side (on VMIX) to make Ryzen works better?
Should we wait for new reports regarding AMD Ryzen CPUs and VMIX, from you?

I believe many producers who have adopted VMIX (take me as example, I have 4 VMIX licenses) would love to have cheaper/better alternatives for 6/8 cores CPUs (also, looks like AMD will launch 12/16 Cores CPUs by the end of the year).

Best regards.
Joao Pott
1 user thanked joaopott for this useful post.
RichShumaker on 2/04/2017
lael
#14 Posted : Wednesday, 15 November 2017 10:54:53 AM
Rank: Advanced Member

Medals:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 17/02/2017
Posts: 53

Thanks: 17 times
Was thanked: 4 time(s) in 4 post(s)
Any update on how the AMD processors are performing in vMix?
RandomStreamer
#15 Posted : Friday, 17 November 2017 3:11:22 AM
Rank: Advanced Member

Medals:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 18/05/2017
Posts: 53

Thanks: 3 times
Was thanked: 13 time(s) in 12 post(s)
lael wrote:
Any update on how the AMD processors are performing in vMix?

Still shitty, tried couple weeks ago. It was worse than 4th generation i7s in my benchmark (1700x)
stevespaw
#16 Posted : Friday, 17 November 2017 3:22:37 AM
Rank: Advanced Member

Medals:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 12/03/2015
Posts: 266
Location: Kansas City, MO USA

Thanks: 49 times
Was thanked: 46 time(s) in 33 post(s)
Is this a ThreadRipper, you have tried?

Steve
RandomStreamer
#17 Posted : Friday, 17 November 2017 8:05:20 AM
Rank: Advanced Member

Medals:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 18/05/2017
Posts: 53

Thanks: 3 times
Was thanked: 13 time(s) in 12 post(s)
stevespaw wrote:
Is this a ThreadRipper, you have tried?

Steve


Also tried threadripper, I dont recall the specific performance metrics, but I ended up with X299 and i9 7900x, amaaaaazing performance :)
Longur
#18 Posted : Thursday, 23 November 2017 3:32:28 AM
Rank: Newbie

Medals:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 13/06/2017
Posts: 5
Location: Vancouver

Thanks: 2 times
Was thanked: 0 time(s) in 0 post(s)
Has anyone done any tests on Ryzen desktops with AMD GPUs?
IceStream
#19 Posted : Thursday, 23 November 2017 8:47:22 AM
Rank: Advanced Member

Medals:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 7/03/2012
Posts: 2,033
Location: Canada

Thanks: 27 times
Was thanked: 353 time(s) in 335 post(s)
@ Longur

Look at post # 11 again!
Results have not been good...


Ice
Longur
#20 Posted : Thursday, 23 November 2017 9:12:23 AM
Rank: Newbie

Medals:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 13/06/2017
Posts: 5
Location: Vancouver

Thanks: 2 times
Was thanked: 0 time(s) in 0 post(s)
admin wrote:
We've just completed preliminary testing of our Ryzen setup and the results aren't looking good at this stage.

For vMix workloads, the 1800X is currently ranking below the i7 6850k, with the i7 7700k speeding past both by a fair margin.
NDI maxes out at about 14 inputs (1080p29.97) vs 17 on the 7700k

Most troubling are the very high render times under moderate load. These are significantly higher than even the X99 which wasn't that great to begin with.

We're using the GeForce 1070 in our tests, so some further driver updates may be needed to improve compatibility and results may be better when using
Radeon GPUs.

Hope this helps.

Regards,

Martin
vMix


Tests were done using a GeForce GPU and "results may be better when using Radeon GPUs." Was wondering if Radeon/AMD GPUs do indeed perform better with Ryzen CPUs on vMix.
Users browsing this topic
Guest (2)
2 Pages12>
Untag as favorite
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

YAFPro Theme Created by Jaben Cargman (Tiny Gecko)
Powered by YAF | YAF © 2003-2009, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.101 seconds.