logo

Live Production Software Forums


Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Speegs  
#1 Posted : Friday, September 4, 2015 5:03:33 AM(UTC)
Speegs

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 8/3/2013(UTC)
Posts: 372
Location: Gold Coast, Australia

Thanks: 22 times
Was thanked: 66 time(s) in 52 post(s)
Hello,

I just saw this Yuan EB5A0N4 on the hardware compatibility list and VMix Blog. I wanting to hear from someone who has one, so many questions.

1. How much is it? (In Australia even better)
2. Does it have an inbuilt scaler?
3. Are there any special requirements on the USB 3 port? (Magewell stuff works great on my systems, but dumping 4 inputs down the one port wow.. how does that work, is there enough bandwidth?)
4. Does it require drivers or does it work driverless and emulate a webcam?
5. Anyone have any negative/positive feedback about it?
6. Is it reliable?

Regards,

Speegs
jmcmniku  
#2 Posted : Friday, September 4, 2015 5:46:39 PM(UTC)
jmcmniku

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 8/13/2014(UTC)
Posts: 8
Location: sweden

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 2 post(s)
here is response,to some of the questions, from our friends at Yuan :

"
1. Does it have an inbuilt scaler like Magewell devices?

CORRECTION: "UB5A0 no scaler inside.
They need decode h264 stream and scale the raw data by their software."

2. Are there any special requirements on the USB 3 port?

As its the hardware compression box therefore there wont be an issue for it

3. Does it require drivers or does it work driverless like Magewell?

Yes, it requires a driver. Same as our capture card series.
"
Speegs  
#3 Posted : Friday, September 4, 2015 6:55:37 PM(UTC)
Speegs

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 8/3/2013(UTC)
Posts: 372
Location: Gold Coast, Australia

Thanks: 22 times
Was thanked: 66 time(s) in 52 post(s)
jmcmniku wrote:
here is response,to some of the questions, from our friends at Yuan :

"
1. Does it have an inbuilt scaler like Magewell devices?

Yes. It has an inbuild scaler on it.

2. Are there any special requirements on the USB 3 port?

As its the hardware compression box therefore there wont be an issue for it

3. Does it require drivers or does it work driverless like Magewell?

Yes, it requires a driver. Same as our capture card series.
"


I'm not quite sure what the impact of being a hardware compression box is? What would be the delay from a camera to being able to render onscreen in Vmix? Any higher than a normal capture device?

Main thing I'm thinking is DANGER.. Will not be so good for live production as would definitely have higher latency. Much like using an IP Camera as an input does (it is compressed H.264 requiring decoding via VMix). While still looks pretty good, is not a "true" image from the camera.

I'm trying to sort out the details.

admin  
#4 Posted : Friday, September 4, 2015 10:25:42 PM(UTC)
admin

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators
Joined: 1/13/2010(UTC)
Posts: 4,266
Man
Location: Gold Coast, Australia

Was thanked: 2383 time(s) in 1042 post(s)
The delay is only a couple of frames when using our new "H264 Low Latency" Video Format option when adding the camera in vMix 16.
This was especially designed for devices like this and allows multiple video inputs from a single USB 3.0 device.
Speegs  
#5 Posted : Saturday, September 5, 2015 4:26:53 AM(UTC)
Speegs

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 8/3/2013(UTC)
Posts: 372
Location: Gold Coast, Australia

Thanks: 22 times
Was thanked: 66 time(s) in 52 post(s)
admin wrote:
The delay is only a couple of frames when using our new "H264 Low Latency" Video Format option when adding the camera in vMix 16.
This was especially designed for devices like this and allows multiple video inputs from a single USB 3.0 device.


Sounds like an impressive unit and I'm running out of reasons not to try one. I wish it was available years ago, my systems would have be designed a very different way.

Is there a quality loss using the H264 Low Latency video format? I'm wondering what kind of H.264 bandwidth is being used down the USB 3.

If it's 20mbit + of H264 the loss will be very hard to notice. Seems this is a new way of doing things and could be great driving the costs down for capturing many cameras at once. With nice SDI connections as well.
richardgatarski  
#6 Posted : Saturday, September 5, 2015 5:29:28 AM(UTC)
richardgatarski

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 2/18/2014(UTC)
Posts: 1,422
Location: Stockholm

Thanks: 112 times
Was thanked: 216 time(s) in 179 post(s)
JMC Systems in Sweden are kind to lend me one next week to try. Will report here as soon as I have played with it.
Speegs  
#7 Posted : Sunday, September 13, 2015 9:25:16 PM(UTC)
Speegs

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 8/3/2013(UTC)
Posts: 372
Location: Gold Coast, Australia

Thanks: 22 times
Was thanked: 66 time(s) in 52 post(s)
richardgatarski wrote:
JMC Systems in Sweden are kind to lend me one next week to try. Will report here as soon as I have played with it.


How did you go Richard?
richardgatarski  
#8 Posted : Tuesday, September 15, 2015 10:58:35 AM(UTC)
richardgatarski

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 2/18/2014(UTC)
Posts: 1,422
Location: Stockholm

Thanks: 112 times
Was thanked: 216 time(s) in 179 post(s)
We did some quick test last Friday, generally OK. But I have promised to let Yuan and their distributor JMC comment before I post the report (including videos). Still waiting for their response...
richardgatarski  
#9 Posted : Thursday, September 17, 2015 10:45:28 AM(UTC)
richardgatarski

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 2/18/2014(UTC)
Posts: 1,422
Location: Stockholm

Thanks: 112 times
Was thanked: 216 time(s) in 179 post(s)
OK, here you have our Unboxing and testing the Yuan UB5A04N hybrid. Full lab report there, with videos and comments from Yuan and Martin.

Quick summary: The Yuan box is really interesting, works better than we expected. On the one hand, it’s H264 compression affects the video quality. On the other hand it’s a neat way to get 4 SDI inputs (or other combos) via USB3. Main limitation is that it might require a lot of CPU power for decoding. So, if you are thinking of a portable laptop-based solution, this box may not be the solution. (Martin says he might in the future look into better CPU usage for the decoding).
thanks 3 users thanked richardgatarski for this useful post.
jmcmniku on 9/17/2015(UTC), ClementN on 9/17/2015(UTC), Speegs on 9/17/2015(UTC)
Speegs  
#10 Posted : Thursday, September 17, 2015 7:21:50 PM(UTC)
Speegs

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 8/3/2013(UTC)
Posts: 372
Location: Gold Coast, Australia

Thanks: 22 times
Was thanked: 66 time(s) in 52 post(s)
richardgatarski wrote:
OK, here you have our Unboxing and testing the Yuan UB5A04N hybrid. Full lab report there, with videos and comments from Yuan and Martin.


The unrecognized RS485 is essential a 2 wire + ground serial port. Great for controlling PTZ Cameras with pretty common cable.

It's common in security cameras. I use RS485 to control a PTZ via a 3 axis Joystick. Works really well. You can of course buy software to run on the computer to send signals down RS485 for camera control.
Speegs  
#11 Posted : Thursday, September 17, 2015 7:31:45 PM(UTC)
Speegs

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 8/3/2013(UTC)
Posts: 372
Location: Gold Coast, Australia

Thanks: 22 times
Was thanked: 66 time(s) in 52 post(s)
Excellent testing. I really like how you showed the cpu usage impact and you compared it to a capture device I use often :)

I like the look of what it can do. However the cpu drain could be a deal breaker for laptop use. Laptop computers don't usually have massive GPU options either so seems better suited to a desktop as you advise. Better CPUs and GPUs in laptops would help of course.
richardgatarski  
#12 Posted : Tuesday, September 22, 2015 7:00:56 AM(UTC)
richardgatarski

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 2/18/2014(UTC)
Posts: 1,422
Location: Stockholm

Thanks: 112 times
Was thanked: 216 time(s) in 179 post(s)
Thanks Speegs,
And you are spot on regarding the RS485 port - Yuan also pointed this out after seeing our blog post.
hubert17  
#13 Posted : Wednesday, September 28, 2016 1:10:27 PM(UTC)
hubert17

Rank: Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 4/10/2016(UTC)
Posts: 12
Location: Philippines

Thanks: 3 times
Hi Martin and Richard!
Do you have any update on this product? How is now the CPU issue?
I am planning to buy this when I visit Taiwan.
richardgatarski  
#14 Posted : Friday, September 30, 2016 3:50:24 AM(UTC)
richardgatarski

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 2/18/2014(UTC)
Posts: 1,422
Location: Stockholm

Thanks: 112 times
Was thanked: 216 time(s) in 179 post(s)
No update really. We never tried the low-latency option. The high CPU usage was for us a limiting factor.
gt351  
#15 Posted : Wednesday, November 23, 2016 7:30:37 PM(UTC)
gt351

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 1/1/2016(UTC)
Posts: 6
Location: Gold Coast

hubert17 wrote:
Hi Martin and Richard!
Do you have any update on this product? How is now the CPU issue?
I am planning to buy this when I visit Taiwan.



any updates or known cpu usage when streaming with 4 cameras
mkobzar  
#16 Posted : Wednesday, January 11, 2017 10:45:26 AM(UTC)
mkobzar

Rank: Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 7/6/2014(UTC)
Posts: 17
Location: Russia

1st russian review and test yuan hardware
mkobzar  
#17 Posted : Sunday, January 22, 2017 1:09:16 AM(UTC)
mkobzar

Rank: Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 7/6/2014(UTC)
Posts: 17
Location: Russia

2nd video in depth about this card.

Russian language, but google works on subtitles!
ask  
#18 Posted : Sunday, January 22, 2017 1:51:06 AM(UTC)
ask

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 10/13/2012(UTC)
Posts: 886
Australia
Location: Melbourne

Thanks: 141 times
Was thanked: 155 time(s) in 141 post(s)
mkobzar wrote:
2nd video in depth about this card.

Russian language, but google works on subtitles!


Yes Subtitles work...in Russian. LOL. The production looks great however.

mkobzar  
#19 Posted : Monday, February 6, 2017 4:58:05 AM(UTC)
mkobzar

Rank: Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 7/6/2014(UTC)
Posts: 17
Location: Russia

ask wrote:
mkobzar wrote:
2nd video in depth about this card.

Russian language, but google works on subtitles!


Yes Subtitles work...in Russian. LOL. The production looks great however.


Thanks, use auto translator, please.
UserPostedImage
ask  
#20 Posted : Monday, February 6, 2017 4:37:59 PM(UTC)
ask

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 10/13/2012(UTC)
Posts: 886
Australia
Location: Melbourne

Thanks: 141 times
Was thanked: 155 time(s) in 141 post(s)
LOL. Did not realise YT did that! Not easy finding the settings, and I guess they have a long way to go with the translations...."she came out of the box four years ago"....but it made my day!
Users browsing this topic
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.