vMix - Live Production Software
Live Production Software Forums       www.vmix.com
Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Log In | Register

Tag as favorite
Box with 4 SDI inputs to laptop by USB 3.0
jaialai
#1 Posted : Sunday, 11 March 2018 8:15:16 PM
Rank: Newbie

Medals:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/02/2018
Posts: 7
Location: Spain

Thanks: 0 times
Was thanked: 0 time(s) in 0 post(s)
I looking for a box with 4 SDI inputs to go to the laptop by USB 3.0. I can't see nothing about this.

If that item exists could i see (preview) the all cameras in VMIX?

Thanks
zenvideo
#2 Posted : Sunday, 11 March 2018 8:48:17 PM
Rank: Advanced Member

Medals:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 13/05/2014
Posts: 243
Location: Manchester, UK

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 108 time(s) in 68 post(s)
jaialai wrote:
I looking for a box with 4 SDI inputs to go to the laptop by USB 3.0. I can't see nothing about this.
If that item exists could i see (preview) the all cameras in VMIX?

Unless you were working at SD resolution, USB3 doesn't have enough bandwidth for four uncompressed video signals, which I guess is why no-one makes such a device in an age where HD is the expected norm. Technically, a device could be made which uses lossy hardware compression to reduce the data-rate sufficiently to handle four streams of HD over USB3, but if using (uncompressed) SDI sources, why would people want to lower the quality by using such a method? It is better to use a Thunderbolt connection to an external PCIe expansion chassis fitted with a quad SDI capture card from the likes of AJA, Blackmagic, Magewell or Yuan.
2 users thanked zenvideo for this useful post.
sinc747 on 14/03/2018, mjgraves on 15/03/2018
jaialai
#3 Posted : Monday, 12 March 2018 8:53:53 AM
Rank: Newbie

Medals:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/02/2018
Posts: 7
Location: Spain

Thanks: 0 times
Was thanked: 0 time(s) in 0 post(s)
Thanks for your reply. Yes i use hd video.
mjgraves
#4 Posted : Thursday, 15 March 2018 12:14:32 AM
Rank: Advanced Member

Medals:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 1/07/2015
Posts: 632
Location: Houston TX

Thanks: 201 times
Was thanked: 152 time(s) in 130 post(s)
zenvideo wrote:
It is better to use a Thunderbolt connection to an external PCIe expansion chassis fitted with a quad SDI capture card from the likes of AJA, Blackmagic, Magewell or Yuan.


Agreed! Could you recommend a Thunderbolt 3 PCIe card?
David_in_Philly
#5 Posted : Wednesday, 11 April 2018 6:38:39 AM
Rank: Advanced Member

Medals:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 21/11/2017
Posts: 38
Location: Philadephia, PA

Thanks: 9 times
Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 2 post(s)
I use two cards successfully - in a Thunderbolt enclosure that attaches to my laptop Asus ROGvia Thunderbolt/USB-C connector.

SDI Card: AJA Corvid 88 with 8 inputs - I can get 6 of these inputs to work simultaneiously without dropping frames
https://www.bhphotovideo...rd_8_lane_pcie_2_0.html

HDMI Card: Yuan 4K card with 4 4K inputs - I can get 4K working in all 4 ipnuts
https://www.amazon.com/g...9_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

PCIe card Thuderbolt enclosure (holds 3 PCIe cards): Sonnet Echo Express:
https://www.bhphotovideo...se_iii_thunderbolt.html
(Yuan card needs to be in top (1st) slot, AJA card below)
Users browsing this topic
Guest
Tag as favorite
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

YAFPro Theme Created by Jaben Cargman (Tiny Gecko)
Powered by YAF | YAF © 2003-2009, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.061 seconds.