logo

Live Production Software Forums


Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
smudge1977  
#1 Posted : Sunday, April 15, 2018 2:45:55 PM(UTC)
smudge1977

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 4/3/2014(UTC)
Posts: 50
Location: UK

Thanks: 15 times
Hi

Is there a way to get fine control of the in and out points on a video please?
I also note that the data in /api? around postion and duration is around the full length of the VT and not the clipped length.

Thanks

Keith
Peter B  
#2 Posted : Sunday, April 15, 2018 3:46:28 PM(UTC)
Peter B

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 4/14/2013(UTC)
Posts: 264
Man
Location: Australia

Thanks: 36 times
Was thanked: 37 time(s) in 35 post(s)
Use an I frame codec such as DNX, Mjpeg, Magic yuv, Prores, Newtek for frame accurate marking. H264 will only mark on the beginning of a GOP, around 12 frames.

You may already be using these.
thanks 1 user thanked Peter B for this useful post.
smudge1977 on 4/15/2018(UTC)
smudge1977  
#3 Posted : Sunday, April 15, 2018 3:50:48 PM(UTC)
smudge1977

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 4/3/2014(UTC)
Posts: 50
Location: UK

Thanks: 15 times
Thanks for the quick response
I am not too worried about how small a unit I can move the in / out point by but just that I can move it acuratly plus or minus the smallest possible unit for the content I have been provided.

I normally get given VTs on-site and then for example there maybe a black frame on the end or front I want to trim and similar, or clip it at the point of a scene change in the VT.

I find the current marking systems rather inacurate and difficut to repostion especially by small amounts.

Thanks

DWAM  
#4 Posted : Sunday, April 15, 2018 4:15:40 PM(UTC)
DWAM

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 3/20/2014(UTC)
Posts: 1,918
Man
France
Location: Bordeaux, France

Thanks: 139 times
Was thanked: 513 time(s) in 413 post(s)
Read carefully what Peter replied to you.
If you don't know what Long GOP means, Google is your friend

Guillaume
smudge1977  
#5 Posted : Monday, April 16, 2018 11:27:21 AM(UTC)
smudge1977

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 4/3/2014(UTC)
Posts: 50
Location: UK

Thanks: 15 times
DWAM - i understand the GOP limitation of life!

What I would like is a way to maybe drag the in and out point markers and be able to zoom in on where they are a bit like you can on a time line in other applications so i can be more acurate with the postion of the markers. If you have a 15 minute VT and you want to trim .5 or 1 second off the end this is difficult.

Also when you interigate the information in http://localhost:8088/API? it does not update postion and duration to reflect the clipped length

I guess the API should also allow for the positioning of in and out points also which are in the documentation but don't seem to have all the paramaters you need:
https://www.vmix.com/hel...ex.htm?DeveloperAPI.html
NHT  
#6 Posted : Monday, April 16, 2018 4:44:17 PM(UTC)
NHT

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 4/18/2016(UTC)
Posts: 174
Location: United Kingdom

Thanks: 25 times
Was thanked: 22 time(s) in 19 post(s)
I understand what Keith is saying, it's a question of scale.

On a short VT the slider denotes a fairly fine amount of time, up that VT to 20 or 30 minutes and it's pot luck trying to shave a few seconds off the end.
thanks 1 user thanked NHT for this useful post.
smudge1977 on 4/17/2018(UTC)
Peter B  
#7 Posted : Monday, April 16, 2018 5:20:10 PM(UTC)
Peter B

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 4/14/2013(UTC)
Posts: 264
Man
Location: Australia

Thanks: 36 times
Was thanked: 37 time(s) in 35 post(s)
We need to be able to frame jog the position for a mark.
smudge1977  
#8 Posted : Tuesday, April 17, 2018 7:19:16 AM(UTC)
smudge1977

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 4/3/2014(UTC)
Posts: 50
Location: UK

Thanks: 15 times
FYI on this you can use this as an XML data source:
URL: http://localhost:8088/api?
XPath: //input[@number=/vmix/active]

This will give a source with all the information on the current input available for use in a title graphic.
This can then get overlayed on an output to the show caller etc.

What is now really needed is the duration, postion and remain at the bottom of the PGM window in the GUI or an option for that information to be put on external outputs?
Users browsing this topic
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.