logo

Live Production Software Forums


Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
guztavo  
#1 Posted : Tuesday, February 13, 2018 3:53:30 PM(UTC)
guztavo

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 8/21/2012(UTC)
Posts: 128
Man
Location: Cordoba - Argentina

Thanks: 28 times
Was thanked: 3 time(s) in 3 post(s)
Hi there!
I want to ask, in your experience, about graphics card memory. I saw in supported hardware and reference systems that suggest a kind of graphics card model, but never talks about the quantity of memory. I.e., Ruby system uses a GTX 1060. I can find in Argentina a GTX 1060 TI 3GB and same model with 6GB with a (much) higher price. So, in a limitated budget, this difference matters for me.
Thanks in advance!

For reference, i want to:
Record 1080p50
Streaming 1080p50 (at least 6MB)
Full screen output on a second screen
dungthantai  
#2 Posted : Monday, February 19, 2018 4:47:58 AM(UTC)
dungthantai

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 11/27/2016(UTC)
Posts: 4
Man
Location: Vietnam

Just need a GTX 750 and spend more money for your CPU
IceStream  
#3 Posted : Monday, February 19, 2018 3:40:23 PM(UTC)
IceStream

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 3/7/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,053
Man
Location: Canada

Thanks: 27 times
Was thanked: 357 time(s) in 339 post(s)
@ guztavo

I think a lot depends on the nature of your production and how complex of a set-up you have.
Obviously, more memory is always "better" and/or preferred in the computing world (vMix recommends at least 1 GB on GPU: https://www.vmix.com/sof....aspx#systemrequirements ) but how much benefit you will actually get with vMix is somewhat variable as there are limitations with respect to how the internal "cashe" deals with LIVE video Inputs.
The vMix 20 release has added a "High Input Performance Mode" for high end GPUs with 3 GB memory or more to help offset some of these limitations which you can get a little more insight from in this thread:
https://forums.vmix.com/...aspx?g=posts&t=10837
So, in conclusion, unless you have a heavy duty production with many Inputs, you will probably not notice a great difference between a 3 GB card and a 6 GB card IMHO.


Ice
Users browsing this topic
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.