vMix - Live Production Software
Live Production Software Forums       www.vmix.com
Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Log In | Register

Tag as favorite
position menu option: auto zoom & auto crop
mjgraves
#1 Posted : Friday, 13 October 2017 12:52:46 AM
Rank: Advanced Member

Medals:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 1/07/2015
Posts: 464
Location: Houston TX

Thanks: 143 times
Was thanked: 116 time(s) in 98 post(s)
People are increasingly using high resolution sources in projects that stream at lower resolutions. Look around and you see all manner of questions about using 4K cameras in 720P projects. Often they want to synthesize one or more virtual shots from one high-resolution source.

To make this easier, it would be great if there was a position menu option to zoom a source to a 1:1 pixel relationship with the project. In one click this would zoom in such that the source was zoomed a tight as it could be without starting to degrade the image quality.

The user would then be free to alter the X & Y positions to extract the shot they need from the high resolution scene.

You may also want to add an "auto crop" option. This would automatically crop the source down to just the visible extents.
Peter B
#2 Posted : Friday, 13 October 2017 2:45:35 AM
Rank: Advanced Member

Medals:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 14/04/2013
Posts: 186
Location: Australia

Thanks: 21 times
Was thanked: 24 time(s) in 22 post(s)
+1
Good to know when your at 1:1 The point you click could become the centre of the
re-framed shot.
sinc747
#3 Posted : Friday, 13 October 2017 6:40:44 AM
Rank: Advanced Member

Medals:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 1/08/2013
Posts: 674
Location: Fairhope, Alabama USA

Thanks: 248 times
Was thanked: 126 time(s) in 110 post(s)
+1
I like this.
g-mo
#4 Posted : Friday, 13 October 2017 8:17:20 AM
Rank: Advanced Member

Medals:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 2/12/2013
Posts: 95
Location: Arizona

Thanks: 5 times
Was thanked: 5 time(s) in 5 post(s)
+1
RichShumaker
#5 Posted : Friday, 13 October 2017 1:15:37 PM
Rank: Advanced Member

Medals:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 4/04/2016
Posts: 136
Location: Los Angeles CA

Thanks: 70 times
Was thanked: 21 time(s) in 18 post(s)
+1
I also want to ask can't you use Multiview + Merge to achieve a similar effect where you scroll zoom 'depending on the merge transition speed' from one part of the video to the next?

I often find that vMix can do what I want just not as 'easily' as I would like.

Rich Shumaker
mjgraves
#6 Posted : Saturday, 14 October 2017 12:01:08 AM
Rank: Advanced Member

Medals:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 1/07/2015
Posts: 464
Location: Houston TX

Thanks: 143 times
Was thanked: 116 time(s) in 98 post(s)
RichShumaker wrote:
+1
I also want to ask can't you use Multiview + Merge to achieve a similar effect where you scroll zoom 'depending on the merge transition speed' from one part of the video to the next?

I often find that vMix can do what I want just not as 'easily' as I would like.

Rich Shumaker


Yes, what I ask can be done in multiple steps using different approaches.

What I'm asking is a simple way to ensure that the delivered image is pixel-for-pixel exact passing of the source stream into the output stream. That ensures optimal image quality. This can be done now, but it requires some thought and a few more steps.
avsoundguy
#7 Posted : Saturday, 14 October 2017 1:19:26 AM
Rank: Member

Medals:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 26/10/2016
Posts: 24

Thanks: 17 times
Was thanked: 3 time(s) in 2 post(s)
+1
Users browsing this topic
Guest
Tag as favorite
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

YAFPro Theme Created by Jaben Cargman (Tiny Gecko)
Powered by YAF | YAF © 2003-2009, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.064 seconds.