logo

Live Production Software Forums

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Mikey405  
#1 Posted : Friday, August 31, 2018 9:16:21 AM(UTC)
Mikey405

Groups: Registered

Hi everyone.

Please excuse me if this is a silly question as I'm somewhat new to VMix and video hardware.

I've been trying (with no success) to find a way to playback a selection of old TV programs I have (all MPEG2), still images (JPG) and Shockwave Flash files (SWF) so that I can reproduce them in high quality (or as high quality as I can with PAL) on some old TVs in a small TV museum.

I've tried several devices to convert VGA to PAL (using as high a resolution as I possibly can) and although still pictures are perfect using my current Extron VSC700, any moving pictures are always very lumpy (intermittently missing frames) or jerky (where the field-to-field interlace seems to have gone awry) or there is tearing on the picture on moving images. (Often all three.) I've also tried NVIDIA and ATI cards with "composite video out" and they're not an awful lot better. I'm guessing this is simply due to mismatching frame rates between the free-running video and the free-running output of the video card.

So, my question is whether anybody could recommend some hardware that would work with a relatively modern PC (2 year old Core i3 HP machine 8GB RAM with Windows 10 64-bit) which would provide good quality still and moving images using s-video or composite video that I can then feed into the distribution system. Something that would provide a similar quality to a half decent DVD player. I'd like to spend up to about 250 pounds on a suitable device but trying to find anything modern that works with PAL seems next to impossible.